NFL Eastern
National Football League NFL shop NFL tickets Jerseys NFL NFL replica Jersey Jersey NFL NFL equipment NFL merchandise
NFL ticket
NFL apparel NFL gear
NFL hats NFL hard hat

NFL checks

Buffalo Bills

The Bills were formed in 1960 and played in the AFL before joining the NFL in 1970. They keep the worst record among all teams in the Super Bowl, losing four consecutive times in the 90´s.

The name makes clear reference to William F. Cody, known as Buffalo Bill. After a public contest the team adopted the name that won over others like “Bullets”, “Nickels” or “Blue Devils”.

Miami Dolphins

Created in 1966, the Miami Dolphins played in the American Football League before joining the NFL in 1970. They have played five Super Bowls, winning two consecutively in 1973 and 1974. The 1972 Dolphins finished unbeaten (17 won 0 lost). They have not played other Super Bowl since 1985 when they lost against the San Francisco 49ers.

A committee with members from local press, radio and televisions submitted several names to a public contest. Out of all the proposed names, Dolphins won.

New England Patriots

It began to play in the American Football League in 1960 as Boston Patriots before joining the NFL in 1970. After being renamed as New England Patriots, the team reached the 1986, 1997, 2002, 2004 and 2005 Super Bowls. After losing on the first two ocasions, the Patriots won three Super Bowls in four years.

A group of sport journalists of the city chose the name in honor of Patriots´ Day celebration, very rooted in Boston.

New York Yets

They began to play in the American Football League in 1960 under the name of “New York Titans”. They changed name to “Jets” in 1963 and joined the NFL in 1970. The Jets became the first AFL team to win the Super Bowl after defeating the favorite Baltimore Colts, but they have not reached the final again since said victory in 1969.

Known, during their first years as “Titans” after a change in direction in the franchise they decided to change to “Jets” for two reasons: 1. because it sounded almost like Mets one of the city´s baseball teams, and 2. because of the jets that could be heard near the stadium, given that the La Guardia airport was very near.

NFL helmets

Dallas Cowboys

Founded in 1960, the Cowboys named themselves “America’s Team”, which is not a feeling very much shared outside Texas. They have won five out of eight Super Bowls in which they took part. After three Super Bowl victories during the 90´s, the Cowboys have began a renewal phase under the lead of the head coach Bill Parcells.

“Cowboys” was, almost undoubtedly, one of the most appropriate names, but it laid a harsh dispute with the “Rangers” proposal. What really tipped the scales was the fact that minor baseball leagues had a team in Dallas that had already adopted the name of Rangers.

New York Giants

The New York Giants is one of the most long-standing teams in NFL’s history, since they were formed in 1925 by Tim Mara. Troughout their path, the New York team has won four NFL championships and two Super Bowls at the time when the story of the major NFL players was written. New York victories in the Super Bowls came in 1987 and 1991. They reached the final in 2001 but were defeated by the Baltimore Ravens.

When the NFL granted New York a franchise, in 1925, the team began to use the fields of the baseball Giants, reason why they adopted this name, which originally refered to the city’s huge buildings.

Philadelphia Eagles

The Eagles were created in 1933 and saving one season in 1943, during which they joined forces with the Pittsburg Steelers to play as the Phil-Pitt Steagles given the lack of players resulting from the second world war, they have remained loyal to the city of Philadelphia and to the name of Eagles. Consequently, their fans have rewarded them with an unrivaled passion in the NFL. They have won NFL championships in 1948, 1949 and 1960, but they have lost the two Super Bowls they have played. In 1981 they were defeated by the Oakland Raiders and last season by the New England Patriots. In 1933 the long-standing Frankfort Yellowjackets were awarded a franchise in Philadelphia. The choice of the eagle was in honor of the national coat of arms.

Washington Redskins

The Redskins began to play in the NFL in 1993 under the name of “ Boston Braves” and later “Boston Redskins” before becoming the “Washington Redskins” in 1937. The history of the franchise is furnished with some of the brightest stars the NFL ever had, and championships have found their way to the capital of the United States. Before the emergence of the Super Bowl, the Redskins won NFL championships in 1937 and 1942. They won three Super Bowls in 1993, 1988 and 1992.

When the team was in Boston, it played in Braves field, and thus adopted the name. The following year when the team moved to Fenway Park it adopted the name of Redskins, and when the team eventually settled in Washington it kept the name.

NFL memorabilia

Check our friends' websites

NFL schedule

NFL history

NFL jackets

NFL store
NFL game tickets NFL wallpaper NFL football NFL draft

History of NFL | NFL Eastern Division | NFL Northern Division | NFL Southern Division | NFL Western Division


Logo Design and Website design by Log Technology