NFL Western
National Football League NFL shop NFL tickets Jerseys NFL NFL replica Jersey Jersey NFL NFL equipment NFL merchandise
NFL ticket
NFL apparel NFL gear
NFL hats NFL hard hat

NFL checks

Denver Broncos

Since their beginnings in 1960, the Broncos have participated in six Super Bowls. Only Dallas Cowboys have played more (eight). Denver’s first appearance was in 1978 when they lost precisely against the Cowboys. Under quarterback John Elway’s leadership, Denver contested the 1978, 1988 and 1990 Super Bowls, losing all of them. The Broncos, finally tasted victory during Elway’s last two years in the league, winning two Super Bowls consecutively.

They defeated the Green Bay Packers in 1998 and the Atlanta Falcons in 1999.

In January 1960, after a public contest “Broncos” was adopted, a mid western wild horse, making reference to the Denver’s Wild Western Heritage.

Kansas City Chiefs

The team began its history as “Dallas Texans” in 1960 before becoming “Kansas City Chiefs” in 1963. Under the leadership of coach Hank Stram, the Chiefs won the only Super Bowl in 1970 after defeating the Minnesota Vikings.

Contrary to what is believed, the name has nothing to do with the indians.

The team originally settled in Dallas under “Texans” pen name, and when it was about to dissapear Kansas City Sheriff intervened for the Texans to be relocated in his city. Lamar Hunt, the owner of the team, in honor of the Sheriff put the team the same pen name he had. The Sheriff’s name was Roe “The Chief” Bartle.

Oakland Raiders

The Raiders have always had a reputation for being NFL’s “bad guys” with Al Davis as team owner. The Raiders began in Oakland in 1960 before moving to Los Angeles in 1982, and then back into Oakland in 1995. The Raiders played five Super Bowls, winning in 1977, 1981 and 1984.

They lost the Super Bowl against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2002 season and in 1968 Super Bowl II.

Their origin is a complete mystery. At first they were known as the Senors, although the first game they played they did as Raiders. It is very likely that the name was taken from those small pirate vessels that operated round San Francisco bay, where the team was originally going to settle. When they returned to Oakland, on the other end of the bay, the name suited them better.

San Diego Chargers

The Chargers began their career in Los Angeles in 1960 before moving to San Diego a year later, they have always been bitter rivals with the Raiders. Their unique championship came in 1963 when they were crowned kings of the American Football League. After the leagues AFL- NFL merger in 1970, the Chargers participated in only one Super Bowl, losing against the San Francisco 49ers in 1995. They were also finalists in the American Conference in 1980 and 1981, losing the final game.

Barron Hilton accepted the suggestion of his general manager, Frank Ready, when chosing “Chargers” as name of the team. They originally played in Los Angeles in 1960 but a year later, 1961, they moved to San Diego. Frank Ready declared that he loved it when someone cried “Charge” and a horn sounded in the games at the Dodgers Stadium and in the USC games.

NFL helmets

Arizona Cardinals

The Cardinals were created in 1898 and were founding members of the NFL. The team has a very colorful history and they have been known as: 'Morgan Athletic Club', 'Normals', ' Racine Cardinals', 'Chicago Cardinals', 'St. Louis Cardinals', 'Phoenix Cardinals' and eventually “Arizona Cardinals”. Despite their long history, the Cardinals have only won two NFL championships and have never reached a Super Bowl. They have not had a winning season ever since 1998 when they tasted success briefly and reached the playoff defeating the Dallas Cowboys in the first postseason match before being defeated by Minnesota at the conference semifinals. Originally, the team was located in Chicago, and it was called the Normals because they played in Normal Field and they were dressed in brown but the color of the jersey began to fade and the tone became similar to the cardinal’s red. Then the team moved from Racine to St. Louis and later to Phoenix. Nowadays the team has neither changed its nickname nor its location, but they have seased to be called Phoenix and picked the name of the state, Arizona.

San Francisco 49ers

The San Francisco 49ers were created in 1946 but it was not until the 80’s that they enjoyed a long lasting success. Headed by the legendary quarterback Joe Montana, the 49ers were known as the 80´s team and won the 1981, 1984, 1988 and 1989 Super Bowls. They added a fifth Super Bowl in January 1995.

There is clear reference made to California in 1849, in the search for gold. Not in vain they are called “Miners” among some journalist circles.

St. Louis Rams

The Rams is another team that has called many cities “home” since they arrived in the NFL in 1937. Cleveland was its home from 1937 to 1945 before moving to Los Angeles from 1946 to 1979. Anaheim hosted the Rams from 1980 to 1994 before they moved once again, this time to St. Louis, where they reside nowadays.They have won two NFL championships and have played three Super Bowls, winning in 2000 and losing 1980 and 2002 finals. Originally from Cleveland, in 1936 they decided to take the name of one of the best university teams of that time, the Fordham Rams. Later, the team moved to Los Angeles and recently to St. Louis.

Seattle Seahawks

The Seahawks began to play in the NFL as an expansion team in 1976, and they still await their first Super Bowl trip. Seattle was able to play their first playoff in 1983. They, likewise, reached the postseason in 1984, 1987, 1988, 1999 and 2003, but they have never reached a conference final.

A public contest afforded the team its name. Out of 1741 names, “Seahawks” won with only 151 votes.

NFL memorabilia

Check our friends' websites

NFL schedule

NFL history

NFL jackets

NFL store
NFL game tickets NFL wallpaper NFL football NFL draft

History of NFL | NFL Eastern Division | NFL Northern Division | NFL Southern Division | NFL Western Division


Logo Design and Website design by Log Technology